WILLINGBORO MUNICIPAL UTILITIES AUTHORITY

Regular Meeting Minutes August 21, 2013

The regular meeting of the Willingboro Municipal Utilities Authority was held on Wednesday, August 21, 2013 in the Authority office.

Chairman Walker called the meeting to order at 4:30 PM, and Pledge of Allegiance by the Board. The Commissioner instructed the Secretary to read the following statement:

Public notice of the meeting, pursuant to the Open Public Meetings Act, has been given by the Authority in the following manner:

- A. Posting written notice on the official bulletin board of the Authority building.
- B. Mailing written notice to the Municipal Clerks of Willingboro and Westampton Townships; the Secretary of the Edgewater Park Sewerage Authority and the Executive Director of the Mount Laurel Municipal Utilities Authority.
- C. Publishing a Public Notice in the Burlington County Times and Courier-Post.
- D. Directing the Secretary to enter into the minutes of this meeting this public announcement.

Roll Call: Cmmr. Eddie Campbell, Jr., (Present), Cmmr. James H. Gray (Present), Cmmr. Dennis W. Reiter (Present), Cmmr. Christopher Walker (Present), Alt. Cmmr. Jacqueline Jennings (Present), and Alt. Cmmr. T. Wayne Scott (Present).

Others attending; Michael A. Armstrong, Secretary, Joseph S. Bateman, Executive Director, James Mackie, Operations Manager, Nicholas F. Talvacchia, Solicitor and L. Russell Trice, Engineer.

<u>Motion:</u> A motion was made by Cmmr. Gray and seconded by Alt. Cmmr. Jennings for approval of modifications to the May 2nd Special meeting minutes previously approved at the July meeting.

<u>Discussion:</u> The Secretary advised the Commissioners that a review of the audio tape of the May 2nd meeting required that the changes be made to the previously approved minutes. Commissioner Reiter indicated that he did not receive a copy of the revised May 2nd meeting minutes in his board packet.

Roll Call: Cmmr. Gray, AYE; Cmmr. Campbell, AYE; Cmmr. Reiter, NO; Alt. Cmmr. Jennings, AYE; Cmmr. Walker, AYE.

<u>Motion</u>: A motion was made by Cmmr. Gray and seconded by Cmmr. Campbell to approve the minutes of the July 17, meeting.

Discussion: None.

Roll Call: Cmmr. Gray, AYE; Cmmr. Campbell, AYE; Cmmr. Reiter, AYE; Alt. Cmmr. Jennings, AYE; Cmmr. Walker, AYE.

There were no comments from the public.

Motion: A motion was made by Cmmr. Gray and seconded by Cmmr. Campbell to authorize the Executive Director to attend and receive reimbursement for expenses for the AEA meetings in August and September.

<u>Amended Motion:</u> The original motion was for both August and September then the motion was modified by Cmmr. Gray and seconded by Cmmr. Campbell to exclude August.

Roll Call: Cmmr. Gray, AYE; Cmmr. Campbell, AYE; Cmmr. Reiter, AYE; Alt. Cmmr. Jennings, AYE; Cmmr. Walker, AYE.

Motion: A motion was made by Cmmr. Gray and seconded by Cmmr. Reiter to authorize attendance at and reimbursement for the Annual AEA Fall seminar, November 19 and 20.

Discussion: None.

Roll Call: Cmmr. Gray, AYE; Cmmr. Campbell, AYE; Cmmr. Reiter, AYE; Alt Cmmr. Jennings, AYE; Cmmr. Walker, AYE.

Motion: A motion was made by Cmmr. Reiter and seconded by Cmmr. Gray to hire Ms. Mullings as Supervisory Laboratory Technician at a salary of \$67,500.

Discussion: None.

<u>Amended Motion:</u> A motion was modified by Cmmr. Reiter and seconded by Cmmr. Gray to raise the Supervisory Laboratory Technician salary to \$70,000 retroactive June 19, 2013.

Discussion: None.

Roll Call: Cmmr. Gray, AYE; Cmmr. Campbell, AYE; Cmmr. Reiter, AYE; Alt. Cmmr. Jennings, AYE; Cmmr. Walker, AYE.

Motion: A motion was made by Alt. Cmmr. Jennings and seconded by Cmmr. Gray to hire Alexandra Hale as Laboratory Assistant for \$40,000 effective August 24, 2013.

Discussion: None.

Roll Call: Cmmr. Gray, AYE; Cmmr. Campbell, AYE; Cmmr. Reiter, AYE; Alt. Cmmr. Jennings, AYE; Cmmr. Walker, AYE.

<u>Motion:</u> A motion is made by Alt. Cmmr. Jennings and seconded by Cmmr. Campbell to accept the Treasurer's Report.

Discussion: None.

Roll Call: Cmmr. Gray, AYE; Cmmr. Campbell, AYE; Cmmr. Reiter, AYE; Alt. Cmmr. Jennings, AYE; Cmmr. Walker, AYE.

Motion: A motion is made by Cmmr. Campbell and seconded by Cmmr. Gray to approve the change order number 2013-1.

Discussion: None.

Roll Call: Cmmr. Gray, AYE; Cmmr. Campbell, AYE; Cmmr. Reiter, AYE; Alt. Cmmr. Jennings, AYE; Cmmr. Walker, AYE.

Motion: A motion is made by Cmmr. Reiter and seconded by Cmmr. Campbell to enter closed session.

Roll Call: Cmmr. Gray, AYE; Cmmr. Campbell, AYE; Cmmr. Reiter, AYE; Alt. Cmmr. Jennings, AYE; Cmmr. Walker, AYE.

The Commissioners enter closed session.

Motion: A motion is made by Cmmr. Reiter and seconded by Cmmr. Gray to enter public session.

Roll Call: Cmmr. Gray, AYE; Cmmr. Campbell, AYE; Cmmr. Reiter, AYE; Alt. Cmmr. Jennings, AYE; Cmmr. Walker, AYE.

Executive Director's evaluation is discussed. Chairman Walker passed out evaluation forms and directed the Commissioners to complete the forms and get them to the Solicitor by September 11, 2013 so that he may compile a report for the Commissioners' review at the September regular meeting.

Motion: A motion is made by Alt. Cmmr. Jennings to change the meeting time to 3:30 p.m., no second. Motion fails.

Comments from Authority members:

Cmmr. Reiter indicated that he would like to receive paper copies of the minutes, and he indicated that the Board has not passed the Executive session minutes. Cmmr. Campbell stated that he too would like paper copies of the minutes. The Secretary advised the Board that the closed session minutes have been made available at every meeting. Commissioner Walker stated that it would be helpful to the Board to have an extra copy of the packet available during the meetings, and an original copy of the agenda.

Motion: A motion was made by Cmmr. Gray to adjourn the meeting and seconded by Cmmr. Reiter and the meeting adjourned at approximately 5:45 p.m.

Certification of Minutes

I hereby certify the above to	be a true and correct copy of the approved Minutes of the August
21, 2013, Regular Meeting of the W	illingboro Municipal Utilities Authority.
Michael A. Armstrong, Secretary	